jump to navigation

BBQ Grill Using My Dutch Oven Equipment August 10, 2009

Posted by thetrainerscorner in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Hello fellow Scouters,

I learned a great campout cooking technique from our former Grill1Cubmaster years ago that I’d like to pass on to you. I love to barbeque, but if the campground I am going to doesn’t have a grill, I can make my own out of my existing Dutch oven equipment and enjoy burgers or steaks!

As I’ve blogged about in my Getting Started With Dutch Ovens post, IGrill2 use aluminum oil pans to start my coals and to place my Dutch ovens in. Since I’ve already brought oil pans and charcoal to the campout, all I need for my own barbeque grill is an adjustable grill rack. I found a Grillpro adjustable grill rack at my local Walmart for under $20, but you can find them on Amazon or any grill site on the web – just Google “BBQ Adjustable Grill Rack”.

A couple of words of warning when it comes to making your own campsite barbeque. When barbequing this way, your food is much closer to the coals than your barbeque at home, so you have to watch your food carefully. Also, the clean up on this grill rack is a pain, so bring a barbeque brush to brush it while it’s still hot. And with all outdoor cooking, keep an eye on winds. A wind block is always good if the winds are blowing.

Now the neat thing about this is not that I have a small barbeque grill at the campout. You can buy a small portable barbeque grill and accomplish the same results. What’s good about this is that with just one more small accessory, the adjustable grill, I was able to increase my cooking options and as a result expand my campout menu choices. So look at the equipment you bring to your campout and see what other uses you can make out of your equipment.

If you’re like me and you love the taste of barbeque, this is a great way to do some grilling at your campout.

Enjoy!

In Scouting,

 – Scouter Jeff <><

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

