jump to navigation

Webelos to Scout Transition – Part 2 November 7, 2008

Posted by thetrainerscorner in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Hello fellow Scouters,

Happy Friday to you all! Me and my son are headed out early today to our council’s Webelos Woods campout. (For those of you in colder climates, we here in Southern California get to camp all year. This weekend will be a “cool camp”, with night-time lows in the low 40’s). The Boy Scouts in our council put on this campout for the Webelos, specifically to show the best that Boy Scouting has to offer. I’ve been before with my older son and the scouts do a great job.

I will be writing more thoughts on this after we get back, but I wanted to note one more step in the Webelos to Scout transition process, that I will be working on this weekend. As a Webelos leader, I am an active recruiter for Boy Scouts. My job is to show the boys how great Boy Scouting is. Our pack generally feeds two Boy Scout troops, and my job is not to favor one or the other – I consider myself a recruiter for both troops. I will be talking to my Webelos about all the great things Scouting has to offer, no matter what troop the boys choose. We will discuss how important it is to choose a troop not based on what troop I go to, or their buddies go to. Although it’s good to choose a troop based on where your Scouting friends go to, it’s even better to choose one that fits you and your family’s philosophy of Scouting.

So along with having a (hopefully) great time camping this weekend, I will be recruiting for Boy Scouts. And hopefully the boys will want to join Boy Scouts and continue their Scouting experience.

In Scouting,

-Scouter Jeff <><

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

