jump to navigation

Storing And Organizing Craft Paint October 5, 2009

Posted by thetrainerscorner in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

Hello fellow Scouters,

One item I inadvertently collected as a Cub Scout den leader was PaintTraythose small tubes of craft paint. By leading two dens and working on countless crafts, I ended up with quite a collection – sometimes I feel like I have the entire color spectrum in my craft box!

One difficulty I always had was how to store them. I found a great solution at my local dollar store (the store I like to call the “Made in China” store). I found these small plastic baskets that were 3 for a dollar. They were about 5″ x 6″, and I bought because I thought they’d be great for a bean bag game. I took them home and never actually used them for a game, as I found they were great for storing the craft paints. Not only could I keep the paints from just being dumped in the bottom of my craft box, but I found that I could stack the trays of paint in my box. Plus, when I got to den meetings I used these to put paints out on the tables during craft time. I could even put similar color hues together in a tray.

I like being organized, and these trays were an inexpensive way to help me keep my craft paints organized. If you are looking for a way to store your paints (or other small items, for that matter), check your local dollar store.

In Scouting,

 - Scouter Jeff <><

Comments»

1. TDL_Emily - October 5, 2009

If you are feeling even cheaper. I keep mine in a shoe box, complete with top. ;)

TDL_Emily - October 5, 2009

What I really need help with, it where to store all of the small containers of items I’m collecting? (I now have 6 shoeboxes filled with various craft materials). Do you know of any storage items or ideas beyond getting even larger tupperware containers or boxes?

2. thetrainerscorner - October 5, 2009

I had the same problem, so I got large storage tubs to put the smaller boxes inside. Personally, I like those big storage tubs with the lids that fold closed. I have several that I used for scouts. I had one with game supplies, a couple with craft supplies, one with a lot of paperwork, notes, files etc. I also have one with about 10 mousetrap catapults I built for a penny-launching game.

If I had it to do over again, I’d get clear storage boxes so I could see what’s inside.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

