jump to navigation

Scouting on Vacation June 29, 2009

Posted by thetrainerscorner in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Hello fellow Scouters,

Now that it’s summer, it’s time for many of us to go on BaseballHOFvacation. I’m sure that there are many who would want to get away from Scouting when on a family vacation, which is OK. But for those who don’t mind a Scouting activity while traveling with the family, don’t forget to look at the area you are going and see if there is anything Scouting-related you can do there.

BSA councils and vacation attractions sometimes have local Scout patches or awards that can be earned. Before you go, call ahead or check the website of your vacation destination and see if there’s a Scout activity. Or check with the BSA council that covers the area you are going, and see if there are any local patches. Many councils have patches for attending local historical places or local points of interest – but be sure to call first and ask if they have anything that can be earned with the family, apart from the den or pack. (Click on the “Find Local Council” link at www.scouting.org to find individual council information).

If you are a patch or Scouting memorabilia collector, this is a great way to get some really cool patches for your collection. And if your son has a brag vest, having an out-of-the-area patch or pin is, well, something to brag about.

In 2007, my family took my dream vacation – we went to Cooperstown, NY, to see Tony Gwynn and Cal Ripkin get inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame. For someone that lives in Southern California, it was a big deal to get there. While I was looking at the HOF’s web site, I noticed that they had a Scout patch, offered through the wonderful Otschodela council. So me and my boys completed the requirements (it was an information scavenger hunt through the museum) and we received the HOF Scout patch. My son was excited to place a patch no one we know has on his brag vest.

So if you are a patch collector or enjoy working on fun Scouting activities, check out your vacation destination and see if there is something Scouting-related you can do. It can be a fun part of your vacation!

In Scouting,

 – Scouter Jeff <><

Comments»

1. Jeff Kotek - June 30, 2009

I agree with this. Last year our MLB team, Pittsburgh Pirates had a scout day. as we were walking back to our car, I hear a boy say to his dad. “I wish we had a baseball team to go see games as scouts.” I asked the dad if they were scouts and he said that they were from out of town and he was a den leader and his sons were a bear and a webelows II. I asked if they enjoyed the game and they said yes. I had a couple of extra patches and game them to the boys. I’ve never seen such big smiles on any kids face when I gave the patches to them. The older boy said “wait until I get to tell the others how I got the patch”. That made my day.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

