jump to navigation

Training Cards October 22, 2008

Posted by thetrainerscorner in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Fellow Scouters,

Every time you take Scouting training, you should get a signed card showing the class has been completed. You even get cards from on-line training. I have talked to leaders in our unit that have no idea where their cards are. This is unfortunate because sometimes this is the only record that you took that training (yes I know there is a roster filled out, and the training is reported to the local council, but in reality those cards are sometimes all there is).

It’s so important to keep your training cards together, some place that’s protected and easy to remember. And you should turn in a copy of your training records to your unit – preferably your pack trainer. As pack trainer for our Cub Scout pack, one of my duties is to record and summarize all training records for our leaders. The cards are the only way I can do this. So keep getting trained, and keep a record of your training by keeping your cards. It’s one of the little things we do that adds to the overall quality of our unit.

“Every scout deserves a trained leader”

-Jeff

Comments»

1. Mary - May 29, 2009

I have a notebook binder where I keep all of mine and my husband’s training cards as well as all of our sons cards he gets for rank badges, beltloops, etc. We keep it all in the baseball trading card pages where each thing has its own spot.

2. thetrainerscorner - May 29, 2009

Hi Mary – that’s a great idea!

Baseball card holders work great for these. We even use them at my son’s troop in the Scout’s personal binder to organize blue cards in process, membership cards, etc.

I bought a set for myself, to organize my own training cards. I keep a binder with notes from all of my Cub Scout training, and I plan on putting these training cards in the back of the binder. Of course, I need to find my training cards first! I haven’t “de-Cub Scouted” my office yet, as I’ve recently moved on into an ASM role in my son’s troop. My training cards are somewhere in there, in a zip snack baggie :-)

In Scouting,
– Scouter Jeff

3. CINDY ABEAR - October 5, 2011

I HAVE USED THIS IDEA FOR YEARS. IT IS GREAT…I AM THE PACK TRAINER AND EVERYTIME WE DO TRAINING I ASK MY LEADERS TO HAND OVER THEIR CARDS.AT FIRST I MADE COPIES AND GAVE THEM BACK, NOW THEY JUST WANT ME TO KEEP THEM SO THEY DONT LOOSE THEM…EACH LEADER HAS THEIR OWN PAGE SO I CAN KEEP UP WITH WHO HAS DONE WHAT..


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

